About the English Department

THE ENGLISH MAJOR AT
SOUTHERN NEW HAMPSHIRE UNIVERSITY

The English Programs

The English department at SNHU offers two programs-Literature and Language, and Creative Writing. Our programs offer courses in American, British, and world literatures, and creative and non-fiction writing workshops. Each program gives students the flexibility to choose a a variety of minors, complete a teaching certification program, or pursue a cooperative education experience. Both programs share these features:

Small classes. There are twenty or fewer students in every literature class, and fifteen or fewer students in every writing class design.
Student-centered Teaching. Instead of lectures, students shape the format of their classes through discussion and workshops.
Visiting Writers. Each semester, outstanding writers of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry give evening readings and visit writing workshops to share their expertise.
Reading Groups. Writing and Literature majors meet monthly off campus to discuss books (and much else!) over dinner.
Professional experience. Literature and Writing majors often become writing tutors in the Learning Center, helping students with writing and honing their own writing and editing skills for the future.
Publishing opportunities. Our department publishes Amoskeag: the Journal of SNHU and sponsors The Manatee, a student-run online literary journal. Students can also get involved in the New Hampshire Writer’s Project, housed on campus, and enter yearly writing contests sponsored by Amoskeag. To find out more about Amoskeag, visit their wordpress site: http://amoskeagjournal.wordpress.com/

The Faculty and their specialties

Allison Cummings, Assoc. Prof. (American Literature, Poetry)
a.cummings@snhu.edu

Crystal Bickford, Asst. Prof., Director of the Writing Program (Rhetoric and Composition)
c.bickford@snhu.edu

Susan Cook, Asst. Prof. (Romantic Literature, Victorian Literature)
s.cook@snhu.edu
https://susanelizabethcook.wordpress.com/

Kim Donovan, Asst. Prof. (Rhetoric and Composition)
k.donovan@snhu.edu

Ausra Kubilius, Prof. (World Literature, Linguistics)
a.kubilius@snhu.edu

Diane Les Becquets, Assoc. Prof., Director of the M.F.A. in Creative Writing (Fiction Writing)
d.lesbecquets@snhu.edu
http://www.lesbecquets.com/

Fred Lord, Asst. Prof. (World Literature, Poetry)
f.lord@snhu.edu

Andrew Martino, Assoc. Prof. (Postcolonial and World Literature, Literary Theory)
a.martino@snhu.edu

http://www.apmartino.wordpress.com 

Benjamin Nugent, Asst. Prof., Coordinator of Creative Writing Major (Fiction Writing, Non-Fiction Writing)
b.nugent@snhu.edu
http://www.americannerdbook.com/

Diana Polley, Assoc. Prof., Coordinator of English Language and Literature Major (American literature, Literary Theory)
d.polley@snhu.edu
http://dianahpolley.wordpress.com/

David Swain, Assoc. Prof. (Renaissance British Literature)
d.swain@snhu.edu

Charles Wilbert, Prof. (Playwriting, Dramatic literature)
c.wilbert@snhu.edu

Susan Youngs, Prof., Chair of English Department (Medieval British Literature)
s.youngs@snhu.edu

All English faculty teach English composition courses, so students may also have full-time faculty for freshman writing courses.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: